{"slug":"stamp-duty-registration-fees","title":"Stamp duty and registration fee changes","url":"https://verified.realestate/live/stamp-duty-registration-fees","category":"Registration","status":"unclear","status_label":"Unclear","status_text":"No notified rate or fee change is reported as of 13 September 2026","authority":"reported","as_of":"2026-09-25T04:38:10+05:30","last_changed":"2026-09-13T04:38:49+05:30","answer":"As of 13 September 2026, this tracker remains unclear because no official notification changing Tamil Nadu stamp duty, registration fees, concessions or e-stamping rules is reported. A buyer or owner must not infer a new charge or relief from the audit or MSME request, and should verify the notified terms applicable to the deed.","what_changed":"On 8 September 2026, a registration audit was reported to have identified ₹96 crore in revenue leakage. The transactions, audit period and proposed corrective action were not specified. The report does not establish a change in stamp duty, registration fees, concessions or e-stamping rules, so transaction costs cannot be recalculated from it.","timeline":[{"date":"2026-09-08","kind":"update","headline":"Tamil Nadu registration audit identifies ₹96 crore in revenue leakage","summary":"An audit of Tamil Nadu's registration system identifies ₹96 crore in revenue leakage. The supplied text does not specify the transactions, period or corrective action involved.","authority":"reported","source":"https://news.google.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?oc=5","source_name":"The Times of India","status_after":null},{"date":"2026-08-03","kind":"update","headline":"MSMEs seek government order ending repeated MoDT registration","summary":"MSMEs asked the Tamil Nadu government to issue an order ending repeated registration of memorandum of deposit of title deeds. The limited text does not specify any government decision or change in registration charges.","authority":"reported","source":"https://news.google.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?oc=5","source_name":"The New Indian Express","status_after":null}],"faqs":[{"q":"Has Tamil Nadu increased stamp duty or registration fees in September 2026?","a":"No increase is established by the supplied timeline. The 8 September 2026 entry reports ₹96 crore in revenue leakage, but gives no new rate, fee, notification or effective date. Check the current state notification for the particular deed before calculating transaction costs."},{"q":"Does the ₹96 crore registration audit change what I pay for a sale deed?","a":"Not on the information reported. The audit entry does not identify the transactions, period or corrective action involved. It does not announce a new stamp duty rate or registration fee. The amount payable for a sale deed must be checked under the applicable notified terms."},{"q":"Has repeated MoDT registration been stopped in Tamil Nadu?","a":"Not yet reported. On 3 August 2026, MSMEs asked the government to issue an order ending repeated registration of memoranda of deposit of title deeds. The timeline contains no government decision, order, effective date or resulting change in registration charges."},{"q":"Is there a new stamp duty concession for women buyers or first sales?","a":"No new concession is reported in the supplied timeline. The tracker covers concessions for first sales and women buyers, but neither the 8 September audit report nor the 3 August MSME request announces one. Any concession should be confirmed from the current applicable state notification."},{"q":"What should I verify before registering property in Tamil Nadu?","a":"Identify the exact deed, then verify the current notified stamp duty, registration fee, available concession, e-stamping requirement and effective date. If an MoDT is involved, also check whether it was registered earlier. The timeline reports no general rate or rule change that can replace this transaction-specific check."}],"tools":[{"label":"Stamp duty and registration fee calculator","url":"https://verified.realestate/dashboard/utility/stamp-duty-and-registration-fees-calculator"},{"label":"First-sale apartment stamp duty","url":"https://verified.realestate/dashboard/utility/first-sale-apartments-stamp-duty-calculator"}],"publisher":"Verified.RealEstate"}