In force checked reported 1 source this tracker only Follow on WhatsApp
Live · Revenue

Patta, chitta and Tamil Nilam digitisation

Reported
IN FORCE
In force
What these stages mean
Proposed
Announced or planned. No statutory step has been taken yet.
Consultation
A draft is out for objections, hearings or public comment.
Notified
The formal notification or government order has been issued.
Challenged
Under objection, review or a court challenge.
In force
Currently operative and being applied.
Withdrawn
Dropped, cancelled or allowed to lapse.
Unclear
The sources do not yet establish a stage.
Answer · as of 24 Sep 2026

As of 23 September 2026, Tamil Nadu’s land-record system remains in force, with a patta reported issued on 21 September 2026. A buyer or owner must check the records for the specific land, because this individual grant does not show any statewide digitisation, correction or portal change.

What changed

On 21 September 2026, authorities reportedly gave a patta and pension order to the mother of a Scheduled Caste woman murdered in 2025. This confirms an individual patta was issued. The land, location and issuing authority were not reported, so the event does not establish a broader Tamil Nilam, resurvey or patta-transfer change.

Timeline

1 entry

Every entry is badged by where it came from: Official is a government, court or authority publication, Reported is established press, Unverified is a single source we do not vet. An entry records what was said and by whom, not that it is true. Open the source and judge it yourself.

  1. Reported

    Mother of murdered Dalit woman receives patta and pension order

    Authorities issued a patta and pension order to the mother of a Scheduled Caste woman murdered in 2025. The supplied text gives no details about the land, issuing authority or location.

    source · thehindu.com

Background

Tamil Nadu’s Revenue Department maintains land records including patta, chitta, A-register and Field Measurement Book, or FMB, records. These are served through Tamil Nilam and related portals. They form part of the record used when ownership is examined or land is transferred.

The records for a parcel can change through resurvey, online patta transfer, natham settlement and correction drives. Portal changes can also affect how records are viewed or applications are handled. The supplied timeline does not report a new statewide digitisation programme, portal launch or general deadline.

This tracker therefore concerns an existing land-record system, not a newly proposed scheme. Its relevance depends on the entries for each specific parcel.

Where it stands

As of 23 September 2026, the land-record framework is in force. The newest timeline event, dated 21 September 2026, says authorities issued a patta and pension order to the mother of a Scheduled Caste woman murdered in 2025.

That event shows that an individual patta was issued. It does not show that Tamil Nilam rules, online patta-transfer procedures or statewide records were changed. The timeline does not identify:

  • The land covered by the patta
  • The location of the land
  • The issuing authority
  • Whether the patta followed a transfer, settlement or correction
  • Whether the record was issued or updated through an online portal

No later event is reported. There is also no reported court or tribunal challenge concerning the wider land-record system.

Who is affected

The tracker matters to anyone buying, owning, selling, developing or examining rights over land in Tamil Nadu. It is particularly relevant where the records for a parcel may have been affected by:

  • A patta transfer
  • A resurvey
  • A natham settlement
  • A correction drive
  • A change in how records appear through Tamil Nilam or a related portal

The 21 September 2026 grant concerns one recipient. The supplied information does not connect it to other owners, buyers, survey numbers or locations. It should not be treated as a general entitlement or statewide change.

What to check before you buy or build

Check the current records for the exact piece of land. A general report about patta issuance does not establish what is recorded for another parcel.

For the land under consideration, compare the available:

  • Patta
  • Chitta
  • A-register entry
  • FMB record

Look for whether the parcel details are consistent across those records. Also check whether a patta transfer, resurvey, natham settlement or correction has altered the entry relevant to the land. The brief says these processes can change how ownership is proved and transferred.

The timeline does not provide a portal address, application procedure, processing period or appeal route. It also does not report how the 21 September patta was processed. Buyers and owners should therefore avoid using that individual grant as evidence of the status of their own land.

What happens next

A wider change would require a later reported step, such as a resurvey update, correction drive, natham settlement measure, online patta-transfer change or Tamil Nilam portal change. None is reported in the supplied timeline.

For the 21 September 2026 event, further details could identify the land, location, issuing authority and basis for the patta. Those details are not yet reported. Until then, the event remains an individual grant rather than evidence of a general policy change.

Open questions

The timeline leaves several points unresolved:

  • Which land was covered by the patta issued on 21 September 2026?
  • Where is that land located?
  • Which authority issued the patta?
  • Was it a new grant, transfer, settlement or correction?
  • Was Tamil Nilam or another portal used?
  • Did the grant change any chitta, A-register or FMB entry?
  • Is any wider digitisation or correction drive planned?

Answers to these questions are not yet reported. For a buyer or owner, the decisive issue remains the current set of records for the particular land, rather than the existence of an unrelated individual patta.

Check your land

Questions people ask

Is Tamil Nilam land-record digitisation currently in force?

Tamil Nadu’s land records are maintained by the Revenue Department and served through Tamil Nilam and related portals. A patta was reportedly issued on 21 September 2026. However, the timeline does not report a new statewide digitisation measure, portal change or general deadline.

Does the patta issued on 21 September 2026 apply to other landowners?

No broader application is reported. The patta was issued to one person, alongside a pension order. The timeline does not identify the land, location or issuing authority, and it does not say that the grant created a rule or entitlement for other owners.

Which Tamil Nadu land records should I check before buying land?

The brief identifies the patta, chitta, A-register and FMB as Revenue Department land records. Check the current records for the specific parcel and whether a transfer, resurvey, natham settlement or correction has changed them. The timeline gives no parcel-specific verification procedure.

Was a new online patta-transfer rule announced in September 2026?

No new online patta-transfer rule is reported in the supplied timeline. The only event is an individual patta and pension order issued on 21 September 2026. It does not state whether an online process was used or whether any portal procedure changed.

Can the September 2026 patta report prove ownership of my land?

No. The report concerns an unidentified piece of land granted to a particular recipient. It does not establish the entries for another parcel. Check the patta, chitta, A-register and FMB records connected to your specific land and any reported transfer, resurvey, settlement or correction.

Sources

  • Reported thehindu.com 1

Official entries come from government, court or authority publications. Reported entries come from established press and are not official confirmation. Unverified entries come from a single source we do not vet, published so you can see what is being said and judge it yourself. Verified.RealEstate writes the summaries; the linked document is authoritative.

How this tracker works

This tracker is re-checked every morning. "Checked" is the date the sources were last read; "changed" is the date the status last moved. An entry that moves the status carries a badge showing the stage it moved to.

Every sourced entry appears on the timeline, badged and named to where it came from: Official for a government, court or authority publication, Reported for established press, Unverified for anything else. Publishing an entry is not a claim that it is true, it is a record of what was said and by whom.

The status is held to a higher bar than the timeline. Only an official publication can move it on its own. A status change reported by the press waits for a second outlet or for review, and one from an unverified source always waits for a person.

Seen a development we missed? Send the link on WhatsApp and it goes through the same checks.