primary law

Place and Dates for Conducting Jallikattu under the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Act, 1960

The Animal Husbandry, Dairying and Fisheries Department issued G.O. (D) No. 103, Animal Husbandry, Dairying and Fisheries (AH3), dated 5 March 2020, notifying that Jallikattu may be conducted at Manojipatti (South) village in Thanjavur taluk from 8 March to 25 March 2020. The notification partially supersedes Animal Husbandry, Dairying and Fisheries Department Notification No. II(2)/AHDF/148(d)/2020, dated 20 February 2020.

Category
Gazette notifications
Pages
1
Status
In force
Open the source document The official copy, as published. Opens in a new tab.
Source document Preview loads as you scroll

What the notification does

The Animal Husbandry, Dairying and Fisheries Department issued G.O. (D) No. 103, Animal Husbandry, Dairying and Fisheries (AH3), dated 5 March 2020. Acting under the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Act, 1960, as amended by the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (Tamil Nadu Amendment) Act, 2017, the Governor of Tamil Nadu notified a place and period during which Jallikattu could be conducted.

The notification was published as Notification No. II(2)/AHDF/186(C)/2020 in Part II, Section 2 of the Tamil Nadu Government Gazette Extraordinary dated 5 March 2020.

Place and permitted period

The Animal Husbandry, Dairying and Fisheries Department notification specifies:

  • Village: Manojipatti (South).
  • Taluk: Thanjavur.
  • Permitted period: 8 March to 25 March 2020.
  • Activity: Conduct of Jallikattu.

The text authorises Jallikattu during the specified historical period. It does not state that Jallikattu is permanently authorised at this location.

Change to the earlier notification

G.O. (D) No. 103, Animal Husbandry, Dairying and Fisheries (AH3), dated 5 March 2020, partially supersedes Animal Husbandry, Dairying and Fisheries Department Notification No. II(2)/AHDF/148(d)/2020. The earlier notification was published on page 1 of Part II, Section 2 of the Tamil Nadu Government Gazette Extraordinary dated 20 February 2020.

The source does not describe which other parts of the earlier notification remain in force. It only states that the earlier notification is partially superseded and then identifies Manojipatti (South), Thanjavur taluk, and the permitted dates.

Who may be affected

The Animal Husbandry, Dairying and Fisheries Department notification is relevant to people who organised, conducted or were otherwise concerned with Jallikattu at Manojipatti (South) during the notified period. It may also be relevant when checking the official status of an event held there between 8 March and 25 March 2020.

The notification does not set out any change to land ownership, title, classification, boundaries, planning permission or property registration. It also does not identify a particular survey number or individual property.

This summary is generated from the source document to help you find what is relevant. The PDF above is authoritative. For advice on your own property, use LandLens One or speak to a qualified professional.

Common questions

Where did the notification permit Jallikattu?

It permitted Jallikattu at Manojipatti (South) village in Thanjavur taluk.

For what dates was Jallikattu permitted?

The notified period was from 8 March to 25 March 2020.

Did the notification replace an earlier Gazette notification?

It partially superseded Animal Husbandry, Dairying and Fisheries Department Notification No. II(2)/AHDF/148(d)/2020, dated 20 February 2020.

Does the notification change ownership or classification of land in Manojipatti (South)?

The text does not state any change to land ownership or classification. It only notifies the place and dates for conducting Jallikattu.