primary law

Places and Dates for Conducting Jallikattu under Clause (dd) of Section 2 of the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Act, 1960, as Amended by the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (Tamil Nadu Amendment) Act, 2017 (105 Ex II 2 v3)

The Animal Husbandry, Dairying and Fisheries Department, through G.O. (D) No. 104 dated 6 March 2020, published the Governor of Tamil Nadu's notification that Jallikattu may be conducted from 8 March to 31 March 2020 in three specified villages. The notification covers Aavur in Viralimalai Taluk, Killanur in Kulathur Taluk and Venthanpatti in Ponnamaravathi Taluk, and does not state any change to land ownership or classification.

Category
Gazette notifications
Pages
1
Status
In force
Open the source document The official copy, as published. Opens in a new tab.
Source document Preview loads as you scroll

Purpose

The Animal Husbandry, Dairying and Fisheries Department issued G.O. (D) No. 104 dated 6 March 2020. Under clause (dd) of section 2 of the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Act, 1960, as amended by the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (Tamil Nadu Amendment) Act, 2017, the Governor of Tamil Nadu notified the places and dates where Jallikattu may be conducted.

The notified period runs from 8 March to 31 March 2020. The Gazette publication is numbered No. 105 and was published on 6 March 2020 in Part II, Section 2 of the Tamil Nadu Government Gazette Extraordinary.

Notified places

G.O. (D) No. 104 identifies three villages and their corresponding taluks:

  • Aavur village, Viralimalai Taluk.
  • Killanur village, Kulathur Taluk.
  • Venthanpatti village, Ponnamaravathi Taluk.

The notification permits Jallikattu to be conducted during the stated period only in the places listed in its schedule. It does not provide a separate event date for each village within that period.

Who is affected

The Animal Husbandry, Dairying and Fisheries Department notification is relevant to anyone checking whether Jallikattu was officially notified for Aavur, Killanur or Venthanpatti during March 2020. The operative wording states that Jallikattu may be conducted in those places from 8 March to 31 March 2020.

The supplied Gazette page does not set out event procedures, participant requirements or conditions for conducting Jallikattu. It only specifies the legal basis, the permitted period and the three village and taluk combinations.

Relevance to property and land

G.O. (D) No. 104 is an event location notification, not a land ownership or land classification document. Although it names villages and taluks, it does not identify survey numbers, property boundaries or individual landowners. It also does not state that any land is acquired, transferred, reclassified or otherwise altered.

This summary is generated from the source document to help you find what is relevant. The PDF above is authoritative. For advice on your own property, use LandLens One or speak to a qualified professional.

Common questions

Which villages were notified for Jallikattu?

The notified villages are Aavur in Viralimalai Taluk, Killanur in Kulathur Taluk and Venthanpatti in Ponnamaravathi Taluk.

What dates were allowed for conducting Jallikattu?

The Governor of Tamil Nadu notified that Jallikattu may be conducted from 8 March to 31 March 2020 in the listed places.

Does the notification change land ownership or land classification?

No such change is stated. The notification lists Jallikattu locations and dates, without identifying survey numbers, ownership, property boundaries or land classification.

Does the Gazette give a separate Jallikattu date for each village?

No. It gives one common period, from 8 March to 31 March 2020, for the three listed places.