primary law

Places and dates for Conducting Jallikattu under clause (dd) of section 2 of the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Act, 1960 (110 Ex II 2 v4)

The Animal Husbandry, Dairying and Fisheries Department issued G.O. (D) No. 116, Animal Husbandry, Dairying and Fisheries (AH3), dated 11 March 2020, notifying specified places where Jallikattu could be conducted from 12 March to 31 March 2020. The notification applies to listed villages in Namakkal, Pudukottai and Salem districts and does not state any change to land ownership or land records.

Category
Gazette notifications
Pages
1
Status
In force
Open the source document The official copy, as published. Opens in a new tab.
Source document Preview loads as you scroll

What the notification does

The Animal Husbandry, Dairying and Fisheries Department published G.O. (D) No. 116, Animal Husbandry, Dairying and Fisheries (AH3), dated 11 March 2020, in the Tamil Nadu Government Gazette Extraordinary. Acting under clause (dd) of section 2 of the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Act, 1960, as amended by the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (Tamil Nadu Amendment) Act, 2017, the Governor of Tamil Nadu notified places where Jallikattu could be conducted.

The permitted period was from 12 March to 31 March 2020. The notification identifies the relevant villages and taluks rather than granting a general permission for every place in the districts.

Places covered

The Jallikattu notification lists the following locations:

  • Pottireddipatti village, Senthamangalam taluk, Namakkal district.
  • Veerapatti village, including the reference to Shri Thandeeshwaram Kovil, Illupur taluk, Pudukottai district.
  • Keelakurichi village, Illupur taluk, Pudukottai district.
  • Kulathur village, Kulathur taluk, Pudukottai district.
  • Yethapur village, Pethanaickenpalayam taluk, Salem district.

Who may be affected

The notification is relevant to people organising, hosting or otherwise concerned with Jallikattu in the listed villages during the notified period. Residents, local authorities and people responsible for locations connected with an event may also need to know whether their village appears in the list.

For a property buyer or owner, the document does not state that any land is acquired, reclassified, transferred or subjected to a permanent restriction. Its stated purpose is to identify places and dates for conducting Jallikattu.

Key points

  • The notification was published as No. II(2)/AHDF/197(b)/2020 in the Tamil Nadu Government Gazette Extraordinary.
  • Permission was limited to the period from 12 March to 31 March 2020.
  • Only the named villages and taluks are specified.
  • The legal basis stated in the notification is the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Act, 1960, as amended in Tamil Nadu in 2017.
  • The text does not describe any continuing permission after 31 March 2020.

This summary is generated from the source document to help you find what is relevant. The PDF above is authoritative. For advice on your own property, use LandLens One or speak to a qualified professional.

Common questions

Does this notification change the ownership or classification of my land?

The notification does not state any change to land ownership, classification or land records. It identifies places and dates where Jallikattu could be conducted.

Was Jallikattu permitted throughout Namakkal, Pudukottai and Salem districts?

No. The notification names particular villages and taluks in those districts rather than granting district-wide permission.

When could Jallikattu be conducted under this notification?

The notified period was from 12 March to 31 March 2020.

Is Yethapur village included in the notification?

Yes. Yethapur village in Pethanaickenpalayam taluk, Salem district, is listed.