primary law

Tamil Nadu Government Gazette, No. 18, Part VI, Section 3(a)

The Government of Tamil Nadu published Tamil Nadu Government Gazette No. 18, Part VI, Section 3(a), on 7 May 2025, containing Tamil Nadu Waqf Board Notification No. VI-3(a)/39/2025, dated 2 May 2025, and Principal District Court, Tenkasi Notification No. VI-3(a)/40/2025, dated 2 May 2025. The Tamil Nadu Waqf Board notification places Manumbuchavadi Samanthapalayam Muslim Street Pallivasal Waqf under its direct management, while the court notification gives notice of an insolvency petition involving properties mentioned in that petition.

Category
Gazette notifications
Effective
1 January 2025
Pages
2
Status
In force
Open the source document The official copy, as published. Opens in a new tab.
Source document Preview loads as you scroll

What the Gazette contains

Tamil Nadu Government Gazette No. 18, Part VI, Section 3(a), was published by the Commissioner of Stationery and Printing, Chennai, on behalf of the Government of Tamil Nadu on 7 May 2025. It contains one notification from the Tamil Nadu Waqf Board, Chennai, and one judicial notification from the Principal District Court, Tenkasi.

Direct management of the Waqf

Tamil Nadu Waqf Board Notification No. VI-3(a)/39/2025, dated 2 May 2025, concerns Manumbuchavadi Samanthapalayam Muslim Street Pallivasal Waqf, Pudupatnam Village, Tanjore District, registered as G.S. No. 474/TNJ.

Key provisions are:

  • The Tamil Nadu Waqf Board exercised powers under section 65 of the Waqf Act 1995.
  • Tamil Nadu Waqf Board Resolution Item No. 130/24 in R.C. No. 16234/01/B7/TNJ, dated 23 January 2025, ordered the Waqf to be taken under direct management.
  • Direct management applies from 23 January 2025.
  • The Superintendent of Waqfs, Tanjore, is appointed as Executive Officer.

The notification is relevant to people managing, occupying, dealing with or examining records connected with this Waqf. It records a change in management by placing the institution directly under the Tamil Nadu Waqf Board. It does not state that ownership of any land has been transferred.

Insolvency petition notice

Principal District Court, Tenkasi Notification No. VI-3(a)/40/2025, dated 2 May 2025, relates to Insolvency Petition No. 3 of 2024. Notice is given under section 10 of the Provincial Insolvency Act.

Key points are:

  • The petitioner seeks to be adjudged insolvent.
  • The petitioner also seeks to vest the properties mentioned in the petition with the Official Receiver, Tirunelveli.
  • The petition was posted to 12 June 2025.
  • The listed respondents are branches or offices of Canara Bank, TVS Credit Services Limited and Poonawalla Fincorp Limited.

The Gazette extract does not identify the petition properties. Anyone checking whether a particular property is involved would need the petition records referred to in the notice.

This summary is generated from the source document to help you find what is relevant. The PDF above is authoritative. For advice on your own property, use LandLens One or speak to a qualified professional.

Common questions

From what date did the Tamil Nadu Waqf Board take direct management of the Pallivasal Waqf?

Tamil Nadu Waqf Board Notification No. VI-3(a)/39/2025 states that direct management began on 23 January 2025.

Who was appointed to manage the Waqf?

The Superintendent of Waqfs, Tanjore, was appointed as Executive Officer.

Does the Waqf notification transfer ownership of the Waqf property?

The notification records a takeover under the direct management of the Tamil Nadu Waqf Board. It does not state that ownership was transferred.

Does the insolvency notice identify the affected properties?

No. Principal District Court, Tenkasi Notification No. VI-3(a)/40/2025 refers only to properties mentioned in the insolvency petition and does not describe them in the supplied Gazette text.