Demarcation of Containment Zone to Control COVID-19, List of Containment Zone as on 09-04-2021
The Revenue and Disaster Management Department of the Government of Tamil Nadu issued G.O. Ms. No. 344, Revenue and Disaster Management [D.M.IV], dated 15th April 2021, notifying the list of COVID-19 containment zones as on 9th April 2021 under the Disaster Management Act, 2005. It identifies containment locations by district, Health Unit District, address and pincode for controlling the coronavirus.
What the notification does
The Revenue and Disaster Management Department notification under G.O. Ms. No. 344, Revenue and Disaster Management [D.M.IV], dated 15th April 2021, formally publishes the Tamil Nadu containment zone list as on 9th April 2021. The stated purpose is to demarcate containment zones to control the coronavirus under the Disaster Management Act, 2005.
The notification was published in the Tamil Nadu Government Gazette Extraordinary. It carries notification number No. II(2)/REVDM/245(e)/2021.
Areas covered
The Revenue and Disaster Management Department provides a district abstract and a location-level list with pincodes. The supplied text records:
- 63 containment zones in Chengalpattu district.
- 15 containment zones in Krishnagiri district.
- 4 containment zones in Nagapattinam district.
- 20 containment zones in Namakkal district.
- Containment marked as completed in Ariyalur, Cuddalore, Karur, Perambalur, Pudukottai, Ramanathapuram, Ranipet, Vellore, Villupuram and Virudhu Nagar.
The detailed table identifies individual containment locations under columns for serial number, district, Health Unit District, containment zone and pincode. The supplied entries include residential addresses, apartment buildings, streets, neighbourhoods, institutions and other premises in Chengalpattu and Chennai.
Key provisions
The Revenue and Disaster Management Department notification:
- fixes the status of the containment zone list as on 9th April 2021;
- publishes identified locations for coronavirus control;
- links each detailed location to a district and Health Unit District;
- gives a pincode for each listed containment location; and
- distinguishes districts where containment was recorded as completed.
The notification does not describe land ownership, title, registration, planning permission, building approval or a permanent restriction on property. It also does not state what specific movement, business or property-use controls applied within each listed zone.
Who may be affected
The Revenue and Disaster Management Department list is relevant to residents, owners, occupiers and professionals dealing with a property at one of the named addresses as on 9th April 2021. A matching pincode alone may not establish that a property was included, because the table identifies particular streets, buildings and premises within pincodes.
This summary is generated from the source document to help you find what is relevant. The PDF above is authoritative. For advice on your own property, use LandLens One or speak to a qualified professional.
Common questions
Does this notification change the ownership or title of a property?
No change to ownership or title is stated. The notification identifies COVID-19 containment zones for coronavirus control.
How can I check whether my property was in a containment zone?
Compare the property address with the listed district, Health Unit District, containment location and pincode. The table identifies particular addresses and localities, not merely entire pincodes.
What date does the containment zone list represent?
The list records containment zones as on 9th April 2021. It was notified by the Revenue and Disaster Management Department on 15th April 2021.
Does the notification state what restrictions applied inside a containment zone?
No. The supplied text demarcates and lists containment zones but does not specify movement, business or property-use restrictions.