primary law

COVID-19, Demarcation of Containment Zone to Control Corona Virus under the Disaster Management Act, 2005, List of Containment Zone as on 26.06.2020

The Revenue and Disaster Management Department issued G.O.Ms.No.323, Revenue and Disaster Management (D.M.II), dated 29th June 2020, to publish the Tamil Nadu COVID-19 containment zones identified as on 26th June 2020 under the Disaster Management Act, 2005. The notification records 703 containment zones across 29 districts and identifies individual zones by district, health unit district, location and PIN code.

Category
Gazette notifications
Pages
16
Status
In force
Open the source document The official copy, as published. Opens in a new tab.
Source document Preview loads as you scroll

What the notification does

The Revenue and Disaster Management Department notification under G.O.Ms.No.323, Revenue and Disaster Management (D.M.II), dated 29th June 2020, publishes the areas demarcated as COVID-19 containment zones as on 26th June 2020. The stated purpose is to control the coronavirus under the Disaster Management Act, 2005.

The notification contains both a district summary and a detailed location list. It does not state that land ownership, title, registration or land use rights are changed.

Who may be affected

The containment zone list is relevant to residents, property owners, occupiers, businesses and professionals dealing with premises in a named location. A reader can check the district, location description and PIN code to see whether a property or neighbourhood appeared in the list on the stated date.

The notification itself does not describe the restrictions or procedures that applied inside a containment zone. It only identifies and counts the zones.

Key provisions

  • A total of 703 containment zones are recorded across 29 districts.
  • Chennai has 104 zones, the highest district total in the abstract.
  • Other large totals include Salem with 84, Tiruvannamalai with 72, Cuddalore with 64 and Madurai with 57.
  • Tirupattur has 45 zones, Nagapattinam has 46 and Tiruvallur has 38.
  • The detailed table assigns each zone a serial number and provides the district, health unit district, location name and PIN code.
  • Locations include individual streets, municipal wards, residential areas, police quarters, apartment premises, villages and other specifically named places.

Districts where containment was completed

The Revenue and Disaster Management Department records containment as completed in the Nilgiris, Namakkal, Dharmapuri, Trichy, Vellore, Perambalur, Karur and Ariyalur. These districts are not included among the 29 districts contributing to the total of 703 active containment zones in the abstract.

Relevance for property checks

The containment zone notification is a dated public health record rather than a document establishing property rights. For a property enquiry, its direct value is to show whether a listed locality was treated as a containment zone as on 26th June 2020.

This summary is generated from the source document to help you find what is relevant. The PDF above is authoritative. For advice on your own property, use LandLens One or speak to a qualified professional.

Common questions

How can I check whether my property was in a containment zone?

Check the detailed table for the district, named street, ward, village or locality and the corresponding PIN code. The list reflects containment zones as on 26th June 2020.

Does the notification change ownership or land use rights?

The notification does not state any change to ownership, title, registration or land use rights. It publishes locations demarcated as COVID-19 containment zones.

How many containment zones were listed in Tamil Nadu?

The district abstract records a total of 703 containment zones across 29 districts.

Which districts were recorded as having completed containment?

The notification names the Nilgiris, Namakkal, Dharmapuri, Trichy, Vellore, Perambalur, Karur and Ariyalur as districts where containment was completed.