primary law

Demarcation of Containment Zone to Control COVID-19, List of Containment Zones as on 21.05.2021 under the Disaster Management Act, 2005

The Government of Tamil Nadu, Revenue and Disaster Management Department, issued G.O. Ms. No. 388, Revenue and Disaster Management (D.M.IV), dated 26 May 2021, notifying containment zones as on 21 May 2021 under the Disaster Management Act, 2005. The notification identifies 12,278 containment zones across 37 districts for controlling the Corona Virus.

Category
Gazette notifications
Pages
232
Status
In force
Open the source document The official copy, as published. Opens in a new tab.
Source document Preview loads as you scroll

What the notification does

G.O. Ms. No. 388, Revenue and Disaster Management (D.M.IV), dated 26 May 2021, was issued by the Government of Tamil Nadu, Revenue and Disaster Management Department. It formally notifies the list of containment zones as on 21 May 2021 under the Disaster Management Act, 2005, for controlling the Corona Virus.

The notification was published in the Tamil Nadu Government Gazette Extraordinary on 26 May 2021 as Notification No. II(2)/REVDM/315(d)/2021.

Who may need to check it

The containment zone list is relevant to residents, property owners, buyers, occupiers, businesses and professionals who need to know whether a particular location was designated as a containment zone on 21 May 2021.

The notification records COVID-19 containment status. It does not state that containment zone designation changes property ownership, land classification, planning permission or registration rights.

Key provisions and figures

  • The notified list contains a grand total of 12,278 containment zones.
  • The district summary covers 37 districts.
  • Chennai has 6,515 listed zones, the highest district total in the summary.
  • Coimbatore has 861 zones, Chengalpattu has 513, Theni has 424, Thanjavur has 410 and Thiruvannamalai has 301.
  • Nagapattinam has 10 zones, Dharmapuri has 13 and Ramanathapuram has 16.
  • The detailed schedule identifies entries using serial number, district, Health Unit District, containment zone and PIN code.
  • Some locality names appear more than once in the detailed list, sometimes with the same or different PIN codes.

How to use the list

A reader checking a property or address should compare the locality and PIN code with the detailed containment zone schedule, rather than relying only on the district total. The district figures show the number of notified zones but do not identify individual streets, villages, municipalities or town panchayats.

The notification gives a status date of 21 May 2021. It does not provide a duration for each designation or describe the specific restrictions applying within each listed zone.

This summary is generated from the source document to help you find what is relevant. The PDF above is authoritative. For advice on your own property, use LandLens One or speak to a qualified professional.

Common questions

Does this notification change my property title or land classification?

The notification only identifies COVID-19 containment zones as on 21 May 2021. It does not state that property title, land classification, planning permission or registration rights are changed.

How can I check whether my address was in a containment zone?

Check the detailed schedule using the district, Health Unit District, containment zone name and PIN code. District totals alone do not identify individual locations.

How many containment zones were notified?

The district abstract records a grand total of 12,278 containment zones across 37 districts.

Does the notification explain what restrictions applied in each zone?

No. The supplied notification identifies the containment zones but does not describe the specific restrictions or their duration.