primary law

Form C, Notice under Section 3(1) of Tamil Nadu Acquisition of Land for Industrial Purposes Act, 1997 (2024)

The Commissioner of Land Administration, Chepauk, Chennai 600 005, issued Notification No. VI(1)/808(a-1)/2024, published in the Tamil Nadu Government Gazette Extraordinary on 12 December 2024. The notification records the Governor of Tamil Nadu's acquisition of 38,348 square metres of specified land in Unnamalaikadai Village, Vilavancode Taluk, Kanniyakumari District, for doubling the Broad Gauge railway line between Eraniel and Parassala.

Category
Gazette notifications
Effective
1 January 2024
Pages
80
Status
In force
Open the source document The official copy, as published. Opens in a new tab.
Source document Preview loads as you scroll

What the notification does

Notification No. VI(1)/808(a-1)/2024 from the Commissioner of Land Administration, Chepauk, Chennai 600 005, acquires the lands listed in its schedule under the Tamil Nadu Acquisition of Land for Industrial Purposes Act, 1997. The acquisition is for doubling the Broad Gauge railway line between Eraniel and Parassala.

The scheduled lands are in Unnamalaikadai Village, Vilavancode Taluk, Kanniyakumari District. Their stated combined acquisition extent is 38,348 square metres, a little more or less.

Who may be affected

The acquisition directly affects owners and other interested persons connected with the survey numbers and extents listed in the schedule. It may also matter to buyers, lenders and professionals examining property in Unnamalaikadai Village, particularly where a title document, patta or boundary refers to one of the scheduled survey numbers.

The schedule provides property level information, including:

  • Survey number and land classification, such as ryotwari dry or wet land.
  • Total land extent and the portion being acquired.
  • Names of landowners or interested persons and, where given, patta numbers.
  • Trees standing on the acquired portion.
  • Structures and features such as houses, compound walls, wells, fencing, septic tanks and graveyards.

The supplied schedule includes full or partial acquisition from several survey subdivisions, including subdivisions of Survey Numbers 882, 883, 885, 886, 864 and 861.

Compensation and funding

Notification No. VI(1)/808(a-1)/2024 states that compensation for the acquired lands is to be paid from funds controlled or managed by Southern Railways. The supplied text does not state a compensation rate or give individual compensation amounts.

Checking the acquisition plan

The land plans for the acquisition are kept at the office of the District Collector, Kanniyakumari District. They may be inspected at any time during office hours.

A person checking a property should compare its survey number, subdivision, patta details and physical boundaries with the schedule and the plan held by the District Collector. The schedule also distinguishes the total extent of each listed holding from the smaller extent acquired in some entries.

This summary is generated from the source document to help you find what is relevant. The PDF above is authoritative. For advice on your own property, use LandLens One or speak to a qualified professional.

Common questions

Does the notification acquire all land in Unnamalaikadai Village?

No. Notification No. VI(1)/808(a-1)/2024 acquires only the lands and extents specified in its schedule, totalling 38,348 square metres, a little more or less.

Why are these lands being acquired?

The lands are being acquired for doubling the Broad Gauge railway line between Eraniel and Parassala.

Who will provide the compensation funds?

The notification states that compensation is to be paid from funds controlled or managed by Southern Railways. It does not state compensation rates or individual amounts.

Where can I inspect the land acquisition plan?

The plan is kept at the office of the District Collector, Kanniyakumari District, and may be inspected at any time during office hours.