Demarcation of Containment Zone to Control COVID-19, List of Containment Zone as on 9th October 2020
The Revenue and Disaster Management Department, Government of Tamil Nadu, issued G.O. Ms. No. 568, Revenue and Disaster Management (D.M.IV), dated 14th October 2020, notifying 1,022 COVID-19 containment zones as they stood on 9th October 2020 under the Disaster Management Act, 2005. It identifies containment zones by district, Health Unit District, location and postcode, but does not state that land ownership, title or permitted land use is changed.
What the notification does
The Revenue and Disaster Management Department, Government of Tamil Nadu, issued G.O. Ms. No. 568, Revenue and Disaster Management (D.M.IV), dated 14th October 2020. Published in the Tamil Nadu Government Gazette Extraordinary, the notification demarcates areas treated as COVID-19 containment zones as on 9th October 2020 under the Disaster Management Act, 2005.
The notification records a total of 1,022 containment zones across 35 districts. It also states that containment had been completed in Erode and Perambalur.
Areas covered
The district summary gives the number of containment zones in each listed district. The largest totals shown include:
- Coimbatore, 149 zones.
- Tiruvannamalai, 75 zones.
- Theni, 71 zones.
- Chennai, 70 zones.
- Tiruvarur, 66 zones.
- Kancheepuram, 54 zones.
- Cuddalore, 47 zones.
- Krishnagiri, 45 zones.
- Tirupattur, 41 zones.
- Ariyalur, 38 zones.
Other listed districts had between 1 and 37 containment zones. The detailed schedule identifies individual streets, neighbourhoods, wards, villages, colonies, apartments and other localities. Each entry is organised by serial number, district, Health Unit District, containment-zone name and postcode.
Who may be affected
The containment-zone list is relevant to people who lived, owned property, managed premises or carried out professional work in a listed locality on 9th October 2020. Property buyers and professionals checking a location's historical government status can use the detailed locality and postcode entries to see whether it appeared in the notified list on that date.
Key limits of the document
- The notification records containment-zone status as on 9th October 2020.
- It was issued to control coronavirus through demarcation of containment zones.
- The text does not set out property transaction rules, land-use controls, registration requirements or changes to ownership.
- The text does not describe the restrictions or procedures applying inside a containment zone.
- Inclusion in the list should not be read as a permanent classification because the notification expressly gives a specific status date.
This summary is generated from the source document to help you find what is relevant. The PDF above is authoritative. For advice on your own property, use LandLens One or speak to a qualified professional.
Common questions
Does the notification change the ownership or land-use status of my property?
The notification does not state that it changes land ownership, title or permitted land use. Its stated purpose is to demarcate COVID-19 containment zones.
How can I check whether my locality was listed?
Check the detailed schedule using the district, Health Unit District, locality or street name, and postcode. The entries record containment-zone status as on 9th October 2020.
How many containment zones were notified in Tamil Nadu?
The district summary records a total of 1,022 containment zones across 35 districts.
Were Erode and Perambalur listed as active containment districts?
The notification states that containment had been completed in Erode and Perambalur.