தமிழ்நாடு அரசிதழ், எண் 5, பகுதி VI, பிரிவு 1 இன் இணைப்பு, 29 ஜனவரி 2020
The Department Heads' Notifications section of the Tamil Nadu Gazette, Number 5, dated 29 January 2020, publishes notices from the Sub-Registrar, Chits and Societies, and the Deputy Registrar of Cooperative Societies, Kanchipuram Region, concerning inactive societies. It proposes removing named societies under file number 3693/A2/2019 and letter number 4092/E/2012, and records the dissolution of one cooperative society under order number 4331/A2/2018 dated 19 July 2019.
What the Gazette publication covers
The Department Heads' Notifications section of the Tamil Nadu Gazette, Number 5, dated 29 January 2020, contains three separate actions concerning registered societies and a cooperative society. The notices either propose removal from the register for inactivity or confirm that a cooperative society has already been dissolved.
Societies covered by file number 3693/A2/2019
The Sub-Registrar, Chits and Societies, issued the notice at Nagapattinam on 19 December 2019 under the Tamil Nadu Societies Registration Act, 1975. The office had sent a letter dated 5 November 2019 asking whether eight listed societies were functioning, but received no replies.
Key points are:
- The listed organisations include irrigation associations, welfare bodies, a drivers and owners association, a traders' body, a fishermen women's welfare association and a drama actors' association.
- Each listed society has three months from publication in the Tamil Nadu Gazette to provide a satisfactory explanation.
- A society that does not respond within that period will have its name removed from the societies register.
Dissolution of the Kanchipuram cooperative society
The Deputy Registrar of Cooperative Societies, Kanchipuram Region, reported at Kanchipuram on 26 November 2019 that G.K.209 K.M. Subburaya Mudaliar High School and Elementary School Employees Cooperative Credit Society had been dissolved. The society began on 14 October 1977 and had reportedly been inactive for the previous two years, with its purpose and operations no longer continuing.
- Dissolution was made through order number 4331/A2/2018 dated 19 July 2019.
- The Cooperative Sub-Registrar (Office) was appointed as liquidation officer.
Proposed removal under letter number 4092/E/2012
The notification under letter number 4092/E/2012 lists 33 societies that had not filed required annual returns with the District Registrar's office for more than five consecutive financial years. They are proposed to be treated as inactive and removed from the register.
The list includes residents' associations, property owners' associations, welfare societies, traders' groups, a mosque congregation, an irrigation farmers' association and other community organisations in Chennai and Tiruvallur district. Each listed society has three months from Gazette publication to submit notices and evidence confirming that it is functioning. The source does not state that these notices change ownership of any land or property.
This summary is generated from the source document to help you find what is relevant. The PDF above is authoritative. For advice on your own property, use LandLens One or speak to a qualified professional.
Common questions
Does being listed mean a society was removed immediately?
Not in the two proposed removal notices. The listed societies were given three months from Gazette publication to provide an explanation or evidence that they were functioning.
Why were the 33 societies under letter number 4092/E/2012 proposed for removal?
They had not filed the required annual returns with the District Registrar's office for more than five consecutive financial years.
Was the Kanchipuram employees cooperative credit society only proposed for dissolution?
No. The Deputy Registrar of Cooperative Societies, Kanchipuram Region, states that it was dissolved under order number 4331/A2/2018 dated 19 July 2019, and a liquidation officer was appointed.
Does the Gazette publication say that property ownership is cancelled or transferred?
No. The source addresses the status of registered societies and one cooperative society, and does not state that ownership of land or property is cancelled or transferred.