primary law

Notification under the Tamil Nadu Societies Registration Act, 1975 (51 VI 1 T Sup v3)

The Tamil Nadu Government Gazette, through its Heads of Departments Notifications supplement, published Notification Na.Ka. No. 4208/E1/2020 on 16 December 2020 concerning registered societies in the Virudhunagar registration district. It warns the listed societies that their names will be removed from the register under the Tamil Nadu Societies Registration Act, 1975 if they do not properly file their overdue annual returns within three months from Gazette publication.

Category
Gazette notifications
Pages
6
Status
In force
Open the source document The official copy, as published. Opens in a new tab.
Source document Preview loads as you scroll

What the notification does

Notification Na.Ka. No. 4208/E1/2020, published by the Tamil Nadu Government Gazette under Heads of Departments Notifications on 16 December 2020, concerns societies registered in the Virudhunagar registration district. The notification was issued under the Tamil Nadu Societies Registration Act, 1975.

The Registrar records that the listed societies have failed to file the required annual returns for more than three consecutive years. The societies are given three months from the date of publication in the Tamil Nadu Government Gazette to file the returns properly.

Who is affected

The notification directly affects the registered recreation clubs, youth clubs and other societies identified by registration number, name and address. The supplied list includes societies located in Virudhunagar, Sivakasi, Rajapalayam, Sattur, Aruppukottai, Srivilliputtur and other places within the registration district.

Examples include:

  • Enjoy Recreation Club, Virudhunagar, registration number 15/2008.
  • Three Star Recreation Club, Virudhunagar, registration number 19/2008.
  • Vinayagar Recreation Club, Rajapalayam, registration number 96/2008.
  • Vallal Recreation Club, Virudhunagar, registration number 187/2010.
  • Lotus Recreation Club, Srivilliputhur, registration number 114/2013.
  • Seven Star Recreation Club, Sattur, registration number 146/2014.
  • Maha Manamagizh Mandram, Irukkankudi, registration number 154/2014.

Key provisions

  • Each listed society has failed to submit annual returns for more than three continuous years.
  • The filing period runs for three months from publication of the notification in the Tamil Nadu Government Gazette.
  • The overdue annual returns must be filed properly with the Registrar.
  • If a listed society does not comply within that period, action will be taken to remove its name from the register of societies.

Relevance to property matters

The notification does not state that any land title, land classification or land use is changed. A buyer, owner or professional may still need to consider it when a listed society is a party to a property transaction, because the notification warns that the society may be removed from the register if its overdue returns are not filed within the stated period.

This summary is generated from the source document to help you find what is relevant. The PDF above is authoritative. For advice on your own property, use LandLens One or speak to a qualified professional.

Common questions

Does this notification cancel the registration of every listed society immediately?

No. It gives each listed society three months from Gazette publication to file its overdue annual returns properly. Removal from the register is the stated consequence if the society does not comply.

Why were these societies issued a warning?

The notification states that they had not filed the required annual returns for more than three consecutive years.

Does the notification change ownership or land use at the listed addresses?

The notification does not state any change to ownership, land classification or land use. The addresses identify the societies covered by the filing warning.

When did the three month compliance period begin?

The period began on the date the notification was published in the Tamil Nadu Government Gazette, 16 December 2020.