Demarcation of Containment Zone to Control COVID-19, List of Containment Zone as on 11.12.2020 under the Disaster Management Act, 2005
The Revenue and Disaster Management Department of the Government of Tamil Nadu issued G.O.Ms. No.766, Revenue and Disaster Management (D.M.IV), dated 14 December 2020, notifying 116 COVID-19 containment zones under the Disaster Management Act, 2005. The notification identifies the affected localities and pincodes as on 11 December 2020, and records districts where containment had been completed.
What the notification does
G.O.Ms. No.766, Revenue and Disaster Management (D.M.IV), dated 14 December 2020, was issued by the Revenue and Disaster Management Department of the Government of Tamil Nadu. It formally notifies the list of containment zones as on 11 December 2020 for controlling coronavirus under the Disaster Management Act, 2005.
The notification contains an abstract showing the number of containment zones by district, followed by a detailed list naming each locality, its district, Health Unit District and pincode.
Areas covered
The Revenue and Disaster Management Department identified a total of 116 containment zones across 20 districts. The district totals include:
- Kancheepuram, 23 zones.
- Tiruppur, 22 zones.
- Tiruvarur, 13 zones.
- Coimbatore, 12 zones.
- Tiruvallur, 9 zones.
- Chengalpattu, 8 zones.
- Kallakurichi, Krishnagiri, Salem, Theni, Tirunelveli and Tirupattur, 3 zones each.
- Nagapattinam, Tiruchirapalli and Tiruvannamalai, 2 zones each.
- Kanyakumari, Ranipet, Tenkasi, The Nilgiris and Virudhunagar, 1 zone each.
The detailed schedule lists all 116 locations, including villages, municipal wards, streets, residential developments, estates and colonies, together with their pincodes.
Districts where containment was completed
The notification records containment as completed in Ramanathapuram, Ariyalur, Radurai, Namakkal, Karur, Chennai, Cuddalore, Dindigul, Erode, Pudukottai, Thoothukoodi, Dharmapuri, Perambalur, Sivagangai, Thanjavur, Vellore and Villupuram.
Relevance to property owners and buyers
G.O.Ms. No.766 may be relevant when checking whether a property or locality was listed as a COVID-19 containment zone on 11 December 2020. A reader should compare the property’s locality and pincode with the detailed schedule, because the notification identifies specific streets, wards, villages, colonies and developments rather than treating every part of a listed district as a containment zone.
The notification does not state any change to ownership, land classification, planning permission or property title. It is a public health containment-zone list for the stated date.
This summary is generated from the source document to help you find what is relevant. The PDF above is authoritative. For advice on your own property, use LandLens One or speak to a qualified professional.
Common questions
Does the notification make an entire listed district a containment zone?
No. It gives district totals and separately identifies specific localities and pincodes within those districts.
How can I check whether my property was in a containment zone?
Compare the property’s locality and pincode with the detailed list of 116 containment zones as on 11 December 2020.
How many containment zones were notified?
The Revenue and Disaster Management Department notified a total of 116 containment zones.
Does the notification change land ownership or property classification?
The notification does not state any change to land ownership, title, planning permission or land classification. It identifies COVID-19 containment zones as on 11 December 2020.