MAJOR DISTRICT ROADS
The Tamil Nadu Highways Department issued Major District Roads, effective 6 August 2026, as a division-wise list of roads classified as major district roads, with road identifiers, starting and ending kilometre points, and listed lengths. It helps buyers, owners and professionals identify whether a nearby road appears in the department's road inventory, but it does not state property boundaries, ownership, acquisition proposals or building restrictions.
What the document covers
Major District Roads is a Tamil Nadu Highways Department reference list effective 6 August 2026. The supplied text organises roads under Highways Construction and Maintenance divisions and records the following information for each entry:
- Serial number.
- Road name and, where available, an MD, MDR or M road identifier.
- Starting kilometre point.
- Ending kilometre point.
- Total listed length in kilometres.
The supplied portion covers Chennai City Roads, Tiruvallur, Chengalpattu, Kancheepuram, Tiruvannamalai, Vellore, Thirupathur, Cheyyar, Ranipet, Kallakurichi, Villupuram and Cuddalore. It also begins the Ariyalur list, but the supplied text ends before an Ariyalur total is shown.
Key information in the list
Major District Roads provides a separate total for most completed division tables in the supplied text. Examples include:
- Chennai City Roads, 31.210 kilometres.
- Tiruvallur Division, 300.165 kilometres.
- Chengalpattu Division, 221.840 kilometres.
- Kancheepuram Division, 117.740 kilometres.
- Kallakurichi Division, 262.661 kilometres.
- Villupuram Division, 217.267 kilometres.
- Cuddalore Division, 203.105 kilometres.
Some named roads are divided between neighbouring divisions. For example, Pallavaram to Thiruneermalai to Thirumudivakkam Road appears under Chennai City Roads for kilometre 0.000 to 4.000 and under Kancheepuram Division for kilometre 4.000 to 8.400. Tambaram to Somangalam to Nandambakkam Road is also listed in separate portions under Chennai City Roads and Kancheepuram Division.
Some entries contain more than one chainage segment. Readers should use the exact starting point, ending point and listed length rather than relying only on the road name.
Who may need to check it
Major District Roads may be relevant to buyers, owners, surveyors and other property professionals checking the classification of a road near a property. A matching road name alone may not identify the relevant stretch, because the tables use kilometre limits and sometimes divide one road between divisions.
The supplied text does not declare land ownership, road width, property boundaries, acquisition, compensation, access rights, setbacks or development controls. Those matters cannot be determined from this road list alone.
This summary is generated from the source document to help you find what is relevant. The PDF above is authoritative. For advice on your own property, use LandLens One or speak to a qualified professional.
Common questions
Does a road appearing in this list mean my land belongs to the Highways Department?
The supplied text only lists major district roads and their kilometre limits and lengths. It does not state land ownership or property boundaries.
How can I check whether the road beside my property is included?
Compare the road name and road identifier, then check the relevant division and the starting and ending kilometre points. Some roads are split between divisions or listed in separate segments.
Does the document specify road width or building setback requirements?
No. The supplied text provides road names, identifiers, kilometre points and lengths, but does not provide road widths or setback requirements.
Does the list contain any land acquisition proposal?
No land acquisition proposal is stated in the supplied text. It does not address acquisition, compensation or affected survey numbers.