Withdrawn checked reported 16 sources this tracker only Follow on WhatsApp
Live · Infrastructure

SIPCOT industrial parks and land acquisition

Reported
WITHDRAWN
Withdrawn
What these stages mean
Proposed
Announced or planned. No statutory step has been taken yet.
Consultation
A draft is out for objections, hearings or public comment.
Notified
The formal notification or government order has been issued.
Challenged
Under objection, review or a court challenge.
In force
Currently operative and being applied.
Withdrawn
Dropped, cancelled or allowed to lapse.
Unclear
The sources do not yet establish a stage.
Answer · as of 5 Nov 2026

As of 3 November 2026, SIPCOT land acquisition is not withdrawn everywhere. On 19 September 2026 the state withdrew the Cheyyar phase-three and Melma notifications, but farmers still seek cancellation of other acquisitions, including Melur and Cuddalore. Owners near any proposed SIPCOT estate should check their own survey number against the latest notification.

What changed

The latest items are from 2 November 2026 and are about services, not acquisition. A new power substation is planned for the Manapparai park, with no capacity, cost or timeline reported. The most recent acquisition decision was on 19 September 2026, when Cheyyar phase three and Melma were withdrawn. Nothing newer has changed any acquisition's formal status.

Timeline

Every entry is badged by where it came from: Official is a government, court or authority publication, Reported is established press, Unverified is a single source we do not vet. An entry records what was said and by whom, not that it is true. Open the source and judge it yourself.

  1. Reported

    Manapparai SIPCOT park to get a new power substation

    A new power substation is planned for the Manapparai SIPCOT industrial park in Tamil Nadu, aimed at improving electricity supply to units in the estate. The reporting so far supplied gives no capacity, cost or timeline.

    source · The New Indian Express
  2. Reported

    MSME bodies seek separate SIPCOT land policy and oppose auction-based plot allotment

    Micro, small and medium enterprise associations are asking for a dedicated SIPCOT land allotment policy for small units and object to allotting industrial plots through auctions, which they say disadvantages smaller firms.

    source · DT Next
  3. Reported

    Units at Vallam Vadagal and Irungattukottai SIPCOT parks flag power cuts, water and streetlight problems

    Industrial units in two SIPCOT parks near Chennai complain of frequent power cuts, faulty streetlights and interrupted water supply, pointing to infrastructure gaps in existing estates that affect operating tenants.

    source · thehindu.com
  4. Reported

    Study finds SIPCOT land availability shrinking for new ventures

    A study finds that space in SIPCOT areas for new industrial ventures is declining. The reporting so far does not identify the affected parks or provide study details.

    source · DT Next
  5. Reported

    ₹45 crore drinking water project proposed around Perundurai SIPCOT

    A ₹45 crore proposal aims to strengthen drinking water supply in areas surrounding the Perundurai SIPCOT industrial park.

    source · The Hindu
  6. Unverified

    Avalon Technologies signs 99-year lease for 25.08 acres at SIPCOT Oragadam

    Avalon Technologies signs a 99-year lease covering 25.08 acres in the SIPCOT industrial park at Oragadam.

    source · scanx.trade
  7. Reported

    Public protests proposed SIPCOT project in Melur

    Members of the public protest a proposed SIPCOT project in Melur. The reporting so far gives no details about their demands or the project's land acquisition status.

    source · The Hindu
  8. Reported

    Melma farmers seek cancellation of 3,000-acre SIPCOT phase-three acquisition

    Farmers in Melma called on the Tamil Nadu government to abandon the proposed acquisition of 3,000 acres for the third phase of a SIPCOT industrial park.

    source · newindianexpress.com
  9. Reported

    Groundwater near Perundurai SIPCOT park deemed unsafe in 25 villages

    Groundwater in 25 villages around the Perundurai SIPCOT Industrial Growth Centre has been deemed unfit for drinking. Authorities are working to build a ₹136.76 crore common effluent treatment plant, while residents seek lasting measures to restore safe water access.

    source · thehindu.com
  10. Reported

    PMK seeks cancellation of Cuddalore SIPCOT and NLC land acquisition

    PMK called on the Tamil Nadu government to cancel land acquisition associated with SIPCOT and NLC in Cuddalore. The demand is political and does not establish a formal status change.

    source · ThePrint
  11. Reported

    PMK seeks cancellation of Cuddalore SIPCOT and NLC land acquisition

    PMK demanded that the Tamil Nadu government scrap land acquisition for SIPCOT and NLC projects in Cuddalore. No government decision or formal change to the acquisition is stated.

    source · Hindustan Times
  12. Unverified

    PMK seeks cancellation of Cuddalore SIPCOT and NLC land acquisition

    PMK asked the Tamil Nadu government to abandon land acquisition connected with SIPCOT and NLC projects in Cuddalore. The demand does not itself alter the acquisition's formal status.

    source · FM Bharat
  13. Unverified

    Government withdraws Melma SIPCOT land acquisition notification

    The government withdraws the land acquisition notification for the proposed Melma SIPCOT project.

    source · newstodaynet.com
  14. Reported

    Tamil Nadu cancels Cheyyar park land acquisition notice after farmer protests

    The state cancels the land acquisition notice for the Cheyyar industrial park following protests by farmers.

    source · swarajyamag.com
  15. Reported

    Tamil Nadu withdraws Melma SIPCOT land acquisition notification

    The state government withdraws the notification authorising land acquisition for the Melma SIPCOT project.

    source · DT Next
  16. Reported

    Tamil Nadu withdraws notification for phase-three SIPCOT land acquisition

    The government withdraws the land acquisition notification for the third phase of a SIPCOT project in Tiruvannamalai.

    source · Deccan Herald
  17. Unverified

    Tamil Nadu withdraws land acquisition for Tiruvannamalai SIPCOT project

    The state withdraws land acquisition for a SIPCOT project in Tiruvannamalai district.

    source · Rediff MoneyWiz
  18. Reported → Withdrawn

    Tamil Nadu drops land acquisition for Cheyyar SIPCOT phase three

    Tamil Nadu drops the land acquisition process for the third phase of the Cheyyar SIPCOT industrial park.

    source · The New Indian Express
  19. Reported

    SIPCOT allocates ₹43 crore for Manapparai industrial park

    SIPCOT has allocated ₹43 crore for its industrial park at Manapparai. The reporting so far does not specify how the funding will be used.

    source · The Hindu
  20. Reported

    Tamil Nadu prepares to acquire land near Parandur for semiconductor park

    The state government is preparing land acquisition near Parandur for a proposed semiconductor park. The reporting so far does not identify the villages, acreage or acquisition stage.

    source · DT Next
  21. Unverified

    Namakkal SIPCOT project relocates after protests as other state projects are scrapped

    The Namakkal SIPCOT project moves to a different location following protests, while the Tamil Nadu government scraps other projects initiated by the previous administration. The reporting so far does not identify the affected sites or land parcels.

    source · India Today
  22. Reported

    Tamil Nadu chief minister inaugurates Equinix data centre at Siruseri SIPCOT

    The chief minister inaugurated Equinix's ₹574 crore data centre at the SIPCOT industrial park in Siruseri.

    source · News18
  23. Reported

    Tamil Nadu plans more industrial parks and incentives for EV and high-tech sectors

    Tamil Nadu announced plans to expand industrial parks alongside an electric-vehicle push and incentives for high-technology industries. The reporting so far gives no park locations, land areas or acquisition details.

    source · The New Indian Express
  24. Unverified

    Tamil Nadu identifies 14,840 acres for 30 new industrial parks

    Tamil Nadu has identified 14,840 acres for 30 proposed industrial parks. No village details, acquisition notifications or development schedule are provided in the reporting so far.

    source · LiveChennai
  25. Reported

    Tamil Nadu identifies 14,840 acres for 30 new industrial parks

    The state government has identified 14,840 acres for 30 proposed industrial parks. The reporting so far does not specify locations, acquisition notifications or implementation dates.

    source · DT Next
  26. Reported → Proposed

    Tamil Nadu announces new industrial parks and housing for Gangaikondan SIPCOT workers

    The Industries Minister announced new industrial parks and accommodation for more than 2,500 workers at Gangaikondan SIPCOT. The housing is to be developed through Tamil Nadu Industrial Housing Private Limited with public and private participation.

    source · thehindu.com
  27. Reported

    Infrastructure facilities inaugurated at Ranipet SIPCOT complex

    Infrastructure facilities at the SIPCOT complex in Ranipet were inaugurated virtually. The reporting so far does not describe the facilities, their cost or the businesses and workers affected.

    source · The Hindu
  28. Reported

    Tamil Nadu expands SIPCOT Revival Mission for industrial parks

    The Industries Minister said Tamil Nadu is stepping up the SIPCOT Revival Mission to develop industrial parks as employment hubs. The reporting so far does not identify affected parks, projects or land acquisitions.

    source · BusinessLine
  29. Reported

    Residents protest proposed SIPCOT estate in Uthiramerur

    A protest was held against a SIPCOT estate in Uthiramerur. The reporting so far gives no details about the participants, disputed land, acquisition stage or government response.

    source · Deccan Chronicle

Background

SIPCOT is the state agency that develops industrial parks across Tamil Nadu. The brief describes a wave of new estates that would need over 21,000 acres, from Madurai and Coimbatore to the Chennai belt. Each acquisition notification decides which villages face land loss and which nearby plots may gain industrial frontage.

On 25 August 2026 the state said it had identified 14,840 acres for 30 new industrial parks. The reports do not name locations, give notification details or set a development schedule. On 26 August 2026 the state also spoke of more parks alongside an electric vehicle push and incentives for high-tech industries, again without locations or land areas.

Where it stands

The overall picture is mixed. The most important recent official action was a set of withdrawals on 19 September 2026:

  • Cheyyar: the state dropped the acquisition process for phase three of the SIPCOT park and cancelled the acquisition notice after farmer protests.
  • Melma: the notification authorising acquisition for the proposed SIPCOT project was withdrawn.
  • Tiruvannamalai: a phase-three notification was withdrawn. Some reports on this are marked unverified.

Other items are still open or unresolved:

  • 23 September 2026: Melma farmers asked the government to abandon the 3,000-acre phase-three acquisition. This came after the 19 September reports of withdrawal, so check the current position on that parcel.
  • 20 September 2026: PMK demanded cancellation of SIPCOT and NLC acquisition in Cuddalore. This is a political demand. No government decision is reported.
  • 30 September 2026: people protested a proposed SIPCOT project in Melur. The acquisition stage is not yet reported.
  • 5 August 2026: residents protested a SIPCOT estate in Uthiramerur. The disputed land and the government response are not yet reported.
  • 10 September 2026: the state was preparing to acquire land near Parandur for a semiconductor park. Villages, acreage and stage are not yet reported.
  • 30 August 2026: a Namakkal SIPCOT project reportedly moved to a different location after protests. This is unverified, and the sites are not identified.

Who is affected

  • Farmers and landowners in villages near proposed estates, who may face acquisition or uncertainty over their title and use.
  • Buyers of agricultural or plotted land near proposed parks, who may be paying for expected industrial frontage that may not arrive.
  • Builders and investors who priced land on the assumption that a park would go ahead.
  • Existing tenants in operating parks. On 23 October 2026 units at Vallam Vadagal and Irungattukottai reported power cuts, faulty streetlights and water interruptions.
  • Small firms. On 29 October 2026 MSME bodies asked for a separate SIPCOT land policy and opposed auction-based plot allotment.
  • Residents around Perundurai. On 22 September 2026 groundwater in 25 villages was deemed unfit for drinking, and a ₹136.76 crore common effluent treatment plant is being worked on. A ₹45 crore drinking water proposal followed on 8 October 2026.

What to check before you buy or build

  • Ask for the survey number and village in any acquisition notification that covers the land, and confirm whether it is current or withdrawn.
  • Do not rely on news reports of withdrawal alone. Ask for the formal withdrawal or cancellation order and check that it covers your parcel and the right phase.
  • Check the encumbrance certificate and revenue records for any acquisition entry or restriction.
  • Treat reports marked unverified with caution. Several 19 September entries and the Namakkal item fall in that group.
  • Do not pay a premium for supposed industrial frontage until a notification and park boundary are confirmed.
  • For land near an operating park, ask about water quality, power reliability and effluent handling, given the Perundurai and Chennai-belt complaints.
  • If you want an industrial plot, ask SIPCOT how plots are allotted. The auction question was raised on 29 October 2026 and no policy change is reported.
  • Ask a local lawyer to confirm the status at the district office, since the timeline does not give notification numbers.

What happens next

The timeline does not give dates for any further decision. Points to watch:

  • Whether the 19 September withdrawals are followed by formal orders and any fresh proposals for the same areas.
  • Whether the Melma, Melur, Cuddalore and Uthiramerur disputes lead to withdrawal, relocation or a go-ahead.
  • Whether notifications are issued for the 14,840 acres identified for 30 parks.
  • Whether the state responds to the MSME demand for a separate land allotment policy.
  • Progress on services, including the Manapparai substation reported on 2 November 2026 and ₹43 crore allocated for Manapparai on 18 September 2026.

Open questions

  • Which villages and survey numbers are in the 14,840 acres for 30 parks? Not yet reported.
  • Does the Melma withdrawal cover all 3,000 acres of phase three, given the farmers' demand on 23 September 2026? Not yet reported.
  • What is the acquisition stage at Melur, Uthiramerur and Parandur? Not yet reported.
  • Where did the Namakkal project move to? Not yet reported.
  • Will withdrawn areas be proposed again later? Not yet reported.
  • The Oragadam lease of 25.08 acres by Avalon Technologies on 8 October 2026 is unverified. Its terms are not yet reported.

Check your land

Questions people ask

Has Tamil Nadu cancelled SIPCOT land acquisition?

Only in some places. On 19 September 2026 the state withdrew the Cheyyar phase-three and Melma notifications, and reportedly a Tiruvannamalai phase-three one. Other disputes, such as Melur and Cuddalore, show no reported government decision. Check your own parcel.

How do I know if my land is under a SIPCOT acquisition notification?

Get the survey number and village from your title papers, then ask the district revenue office or SIPCOT whether any notification covers it and whether it is current. Also check the encumbrance certificate. News reports do not replace the official order.

Is the Melma SIPCOT land acquisition withdrawn?

Reports on 19 September 2026 say the notification for the Melma project was withdrawn. On 23 September 2026 Melma farmers were still asking for the 3,000-acre phase-three acquisition to be cancelled. Confirm the formal order and which parcels it covers.

Will land near a proposed SIPCOT park rise in value?

Not reliably. The state identified 14,840 acres for 30 parks on 25 August 2026, but locations and notifications are not yet reported. Several projects were withdrawn or protested. Do not pay a premium for frontage until a notification and park boundary are confirmed.

Are the new SIPCOT parks going ahead in Parandur and Melur?

The status is unclear. On 10 September 2026 the state was preparing acquisition near Parandur for a semiconductor park, with villages and acreage not reported. Melur saw a public protest on 30 September 2026. Neither has a reported final decision.

Sources

  • Reported The New Indian Express 4
  • Reported DT Next 5
  • Reported thehindu.com 7
  • Reported ThePrint 1
  • Reported Hindustan Times 1
  • Reported swarajyamag.com 1
  • Reported Deccan Herald 1
  • Reported News18 1
  • Reported BusinessLine 1
  • Reported Deccan Chronicle 1
  • Unverified scanx.trade 1
  • Unverified FM Bharat 1
  • Unverified newstodaynet.com 1
  • Unverified Rediff MoneyWiz 1
  • Unverified India Today 1
  • Unverified LiveChennai 1

Official entries come from government, court or authority publications. Reported entries come from established press and are not official confirmation. Unverified entries come from a single source we do not vet, published so you can see what is being said and judge it yourself. Verified.RealEstate writes the summaries; the linked document is authoritative.

How this tracker works

This tracker is re-checked every morning. "Checked" is the date the sources were last read; "changed" is the date the status last moved. An entry that moves the status carries a badge showing the stage it moved to.

Every sourced entry appears on the timeline, badged and named to where it came from: Official for a government, court or authority publication, Reported for established press, Unverified for anything else. Publishing an entry is not a claim that it is true, it is a record of what was said and by whom.

The status is held to a higher bar than the timeline. Only an official publication can move it on its own. A status change reported by the press waits for a second outlet or for review, and one from an unverified source always waits for a person.

Official pages we watch

Seen a development we missed? Send the link on WhatsApp and it goes through the same checks.