What changed
The latest report, dated 30 October 2026, says the state will set up five Model Registration Hubs in a first phase. Citizens could register property documents and marriages at any hub, whatever the sub-registrar jurisdiction. More locations are to follow. No opening dates or hub locations are reported yet. Earlier, on 8 October, an unverified report named 2 November as the date paperless registration becomes mandatory.
Timeline
Every entry is badged by where it came from: Official is a government, court or authority publication, Reported is established press, Unverified is a single source we do not vet. An entry records what was said and by whom, not that it is true. Open the source and judge it yourself.
-
Tamil Nadu to set up five Model Registration Hubs in first phase, open to citizens regardless of jurisdiction
The state government will establish five Model Registration Hubs initially, where property documents and marriages can be registered at any hub of the citizen's choice irrespective of sub-registrar office jurisdiction. The initiative is to be expanded to more locations later.
source · thehindu.com -
Brief technical glitch disrupts services at Tamil Nadu sub-registrar offices
A short-lived glitch affected services at sub-registrar offices across Tamil Nadu. The reporting so far gives no detail on duration, cause or number of offices affected, so the impact on document registration is unclear.
source · DT Next -
Paperless property registration to become mandatory in Tamil Nadu from November 2
Tamil Nadu has set November 2 as the date from which paperless property registration becomes mandatory. This is a dated deadline affecting how property documents are registered, but the thin text does not show a change in the rollout stage.
source · LiveChennai -
Tamil Nadu registers 1 lakh documents through new digital system
Tamil Nadu's new digital registration system reaches one lakh registered documents, marking a usage milestone for property registrants and registration offices.
source · DT Next -
Tamil Nadu plans to end Saturday operations at 100 sub-registrar offices
Tamil Nadu plans to discontinue Saturday operations at 100 sub-registrar offices, affecting when residents can access in-person registration services.
source · thehindu.com -
Tamil Nadu online registration crosses 1 lakh documents in 44 days
Tamil Nadu's online registration process handles more than one lakh documents within 44 days, marking a milestone for users of digital registration services.
source · LiveChennai -
Tamil Nadu online property registration delays token holders
Token holders are experiencing delays in the state's online property registration system. No information is supplied about the reason, scale or resolution of the delays.
source · urbanacres.in -
Online property registration delays affect token holders in Tamil Nadu
Token holders are facing delays in Tamil Nadu's online property registration process. The reporting so far gives no details on the cause, duration or affected offices.
source · urbanacres.in -
Tamil Nadu plans 25 Model Registration Hubs to reduce sub-registrar office queues
Tamil Nadu plans to establish 25 Model Registration Hubs to reduce queues for people using sub-registrar offices.
source · The New Indian Express -
Anywhere Registration system handles 248 property deals on its first day
The Anywhere Registration system began operating and processed 248 property transactions on its first day, indicating that the new registration option is being used.
source · The Times of India -
Tamil Nadu moves first-sale registration for plots and flats online
Tamil Nadu has shifted registration of the first sale of plots and flats to an online process, changing how buyers and developers complete these transactions.
source · The Times of India -
Tamil Nadu makes online registration mandatory for property sales
Tamil Nadu has mandated online property-sale registration, changing the process for parties completing affected sale transactions.
source · Chennaionline -
Online registration becomes mandatory for first-sale plots and flats
The government has made online registration compulsory for the first sale of plots and flats, affecting buyers, sellers and developers handling these transactions.
source · India Today -
Tamil Nadu mandates presence-less registration for first property sales
Tamil Nadu has made online presence-less registration compulsory for first property sales, affecting buyers, sellers and developers of newly sold properties.
source · LiveChennai
Background
The Registration Department handles document registration, encumbrance certificates and certified copies through Tnreginet and the sub-registrar offices. Over the last few months the state has changed how a sale is completed. The changes cover online registration, presence-less registration, Anywhere Registration and a push towards paperless filing.
Where it stands
The timeline shows a steady move online since mid-August 2026.
- 17 to 18 August: reports (unverified) say online, presence-less registration is compulsory for first sales of plots and flats, and online registration is mandated for property sales more broadly.
- 19 August: first-sale registration of plots and flats moved online. The Anywhere Registration system began and handled 248 property deals on day one.
- 8 September: a plan for 25 Model Registration Hubs was reported, aimed at cutting queues.
- 14 September: unverified reports say token holders faced delays in online property registration. No cause or scale is given.
- 30 September and 2 October: more than one lakh documents registered through the new system, reported as reached in 44 days.
- 2 October: a plan to end Saturday operations at 100 sub-registrar offices was reported. Which offices is not yet reported.
- 8 October: an unverified report says paperless registration becomes mandatory from 2 November.
- 25 October: a short-lived glitch hit services at sub-registrar offices. Duration, cause and reach are not reported.
- 30 October: five Model Registration Hubs are to open in a first phase, usable by anyone regardless of jurisdiction.
The tracker status stays at in_force because the core online mandate and Anywhere Registration are already operating.
Who is affected
- Buyers of new plots and flats from developers, who now go through the online process.
- Developers and promoters selling first-sale units.
- Sellers and buyers in resale deals, where the exact scope of the mandate is not fully clear from the timeline.
- Couples registering marriages, who can use the planned hubs.
- Lawyers, document writers and agents who file or advise on registrations.
- Anyone who relied on Saturday visits to a sub-registrar office.
What to check before you buy or build
- Ask the sub-registrar office whether your transaction falls under the online or presence-less mandate. Several of the mandate reports are unverified.
- If your registration is planned on or after 2 November, check whether the paperless requirement applies and what documents must be uploaded.
- Confirm your slot or token details and keep proof of booking. Delays for token holders were reported in September.
- Before travelling, check whether your office still works on Saturdays. The Saturday closure plan covers 100 offices, but the list is not yet reported.
- If you want to use Anywhere Registration or a Model Registration Hub, confirm that the hub is open and handles your document type.
- Leave buffer time around critical dates such as loan disbursal or possession. A short glitch was reported on 25 October.
- Ask your lawyer to check the encumbrance certificate and the final registered copy after registration.
What happens next
- 2 November: the reported date for mandatory paperless registration. Watch for an official order or circular confirming it.
- The five Model Registration Hubs: locations and opening dates are not yet reported.
- The earlier plan for 25 hubs, reported on 8 September, may be a later phase. The link between the two plans is not stated.
- Expansion of hubs to more locations is described as later.
- The Saturday closure list for 100 offices has not been published in the supplied reports.
Open questions
- Does the mandatory paperless rule apply to all registrations or only some types?
- Which sub-registrar offices will stop Saturday work, and from when?
- What caused the 25 October glitch, and did it affect registrations in progress?
- What caused the September delays for token holders, and have they been cleared?
- Where will the five hubs be, and when will they open?
- Are the mid-August mandates limited to first sales, or do they reach resale deals as well?
Check your land
Questions people ask
Is online registration mandatory for property in Tamil Nadu?
Reports from 17 to 19 August 2026 say online registration is compulsory for the first sale of plots and flats, and the first-sale process has moved online. Some of these reports are unverified. For resale deals, the scope is not yet reported, so check with your sub-registrar office.
What is Anywhere Registration in Tamil Nadu?
It is a registration option that began on 19 August 2026 and handled 248 property deals on its first day. A 30 October report says the state will also set up Model Registration Hubs where documents can be registered regardless of sub-registrar jurisdiction.
Is paperless property registration mandatory from 2 November?
An unverified report dated 8 October 2026 says paperless registration becomes mandatory from 2 November. The report gives no further detail on scope or documents required. Check for an official order and ask your sub-registrar office before registering on or after that date.
What are Model Registration Hubs?
They are planned centres where property documents and marriages can be registered at any hub of the citizen's choice, whatever the sub-registrar jurisdiction. A 30 October 2026 report says five will open first, with more later. Locations and opening dates are not yet reported.
Will sub-registrar offices be closed on Saturdays?
A 2 October 2026 report says the state plans to end Saturday operations at 100 sub-registrar offices. It is a plan, not a confirmed order in the supplied reports, and the list of offices is not yet reported. Confirm your office's working days before visiting.
Sources
- Reported thehindu.com 2
- Reported DT Next 2
- Reported The New Indian Express 1
- Reported The Times of India 2
- Unverified LiveChennai 3
- Unverified urbanacres.in 2
- Unverified Chennaionline 1
- Unverified India Today 1
Official entries come from government, court or authority publications. Reported entries come from established press and are not official confirmation. Unverified entries come from a single source we do not vet, published so you can see what is being said and judge it yourself. Verified.RealEstate writes the summaries; the linked document is authoritative.
How this tracker works
This tracker is re-checked every morning. "Checked" is the date the sources were last read; "changed" is the date the status last moved. An entry that moves the status carries a badge showing the stage it moved to.
Every sourced entry appears on the timeline, badged and named to where it came from: Official for a government, court or authority publication, Reported for established press, Unverified for anything else. Publishing an entry is not a claim that it is true, it is a record of what was said and by whom.
The status is held to a higher bar than the timeline. Only an official publication can move it on its own. A status change reported by the press waits for a second outlet or for review, and one from an unverified source always waits for a person.
Seen a development we missed? Send the link on WhatsApp and it goes through the same checks.