Planning Permission for Buildings from Directorate of Town and Country Planning (DTCP), Process Flow, List of Supporting Documents and Fees
The Government of Tamil Nadu issued this guidance for building planning permission from the Directorate of Town and Country Planning, explaining the Single Window Portal application process, scrutiny, inspection and supporting documents. The guidance does not state an order number or date, and the supplied text does not give fee amounts.
What the guidance covers
The Government of Tamil Nadu guidance for the Directorate of Town and Country Planning describes how applicants seek building planning permission through the Single Window Portal. It is relevant to owners, developers and registered professionals submitting applications, particularly for non-high rise buildings not exceeding 18.3 metres in height.
The supporting document checklist also applies to such buildings in areas under the Hill Area Conservation Authority, except areas covered by the Tamil Nadu District Municipalities (Hill Stations) Building Rules, 1993.
Application and decision process
The Directorate of Town and Country Planning process includes the following steps:
- The applicant completes the online form, uploads supporting documents and pays scrutiny fees.
- The system reviews the submission and generates an acknowledgement.
- Drawings are scrutinised through the Auto-DCR engine, which generates a report and identifies defects.
- Department officials may raise queries or ask for corrections, additional information or revised drawings.
- An inspector is randomly allocated, an inspection is conducted and an inspection report is prepared.
- The approving authority may generate a demand, approve the application and issue planning permission, or prepare a rejection letter giving reasons.
- Applicants and department officials receive SMS and email alerts at relevant stages.
The process mentions scrutiny fees and demand charges, but the supplied text does not state any amounts.
Main supporting documents
The Directorate of Town and Country Planning checklist includes:
- A completed Form-B application and Form-C undertaking.
- Self-attested sale deed, lease deed or power of attorney documents.
- Revenue records such as the FMB or Town Survey sketch, Patta, A Register, Permanent Land Record or Town Survey Land Record in the owner's name.
- An original Encumbrance Certificate obtained no earlier than 30 days before submission.
- Access road records for the prescribed length, or a road certificate from the relevant local authority where necessary.
- An ownership affidavit, an original legal opinion on ownership and details of the registered professionals engaged.
- Key, topographical, site and building plans, together with rainwater harvesting and solar energy provisions.
Additional records may be required for an unapproved subdivision. Depending on the location and development, approvals or undertakings may also be needed concerning railways, power lines, fire safety, burial or cremation grounds, drainage, protected or regulated areas and Hill Area Conservation Authority areas. No structure is permitted within 500 metres of a quarry or stone crusher unless the claimed abandonment is certified by the local body or licensing authority.
This summary is generated from the source document to help you find what is relevant. The PDF above is authoritative. For advice on your own property, use LandLens One or speak to a qualified professional.
Common questions
Can I apply for Directorate of Town and Country Planning planning permission online?
Yes. The process requires the applicant to complete an online form and upload supporting documents through the Single Window Portal.
How recent must the Encumbrance Certificate be?
The original Encumbrance Certificate must have been obtained no earlier than 30 days before the application is submitted.
Do I need a Railways no objection certificate?
A Railways department no objection certificate is required if the site is within 30 metres of the railway property boundary.
Does the guidance state the planning permission fees?
The process refers to scrutiny fees and demand charges, but the supplied text does not provide the amounts.